Fungus in my camera lens…are you kidding me?

Do you have a dslr camera? Have you checked your lens lately? Did you know that fungus can actually grow inside the lens? I’m not kidding…this is what happened to my camera lens.

I first noticed a tree-like mini strands inside the lens. At first they were hard to notice but eventually, it grew and I was really worried. I just bought that camera last October and I barely use it. My first reaction was that the lens might have been chipped on the side. But when I inspected it closely, it wasn’t a chip, it was sort of lines intertwined and interconnected to each other (like a tree with branches and everything). It was colour white.

Fungus on the sides of the camera lens.

cameralens1

Fungus up close.

So what is the cause?

Moisture can trigger fungus to get inside your lens. I’ve been keeping my camera inside its bag and on a drawer. It is really cold this time of the year and it must have been moist inside the bag.

I PANICKED!

Initially, I panicked. I did a lot of research about it. I even panicked more. So fungus actually grows. My pictures aren’t affected yet because the fungus on my lens is just a tiny bit at the corner. But because I learned that it grows, I wanted to have it fixed right away.

OUTSIDE OF WARRANTY? REALLY?

I am supposed to enjoy a 5 year warranty on my camera. It turns out that fungus is outside the warranty cover. So I have to pay for the cost incurred in fixing the lens and replacing the affected part. Yes, they have to replace. They said they couldn’t clean the lens. The cost is approximately $100 for the replacement of the affected part – which is just the glass on the lens really. Expensive I know but I have to replace it. Otherwise, how can I take pictures to share with you? 🙂

CARE FOR YOUR CAMERA LENS…

Avoid moist areas. Keep your camera and lenses in breathable bags.

Clean your camera lens always.

Anyway, I hope to be reconciled with my lens in 3 weeks time. Until then, you will have to bear with my ipod pictures. Happy tuesday everyone. XO

2 Corinthians 2:14
14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him.

One thought on “Fungus in my camera lens…are you kidding me?

Leave a Reply

