So I started in Genesis…

Happy Thursday my loves….

Where do you suppose to start reading the Bible? Some people told me to start in John as it is about the life and ministry of Jesus. I did read John. But then again, I always have this urge to start from first page to the last page of the Bible. I just find it hard sometimes to follow some chapters if I don’t know what happened prior to that. I read the New Testament because it’s the life of Jesus. But there are always quotes from the Old Testament so I really feel the need to read the Old Testament as well.

And so I started in Genesis. For the past month, I have been reading in Genesis and I am just amazed how God has moved in the lives of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph. From generation to generation, God has been so faithful. I’d like to share with you the spiritual enlightenments that I’ve gained from this book. But I’d do that in another post so I’ll have more space.

So why Genesis? It is the beginning. It is the record of what happened since the start of everything. The story of creation is just amazing. And I wonder how there are people who have a hard time believing in the beauty of creation. Not that I am against anyone but I’d rather believe I am God’s masterpiece created in His own image than a by product of a spinning dust in the outer space. I’d rather believe God has designed me with HIS perfect plan in mind than I am a modified version of an ape.

The story of Abraham is beauty beyond words. He is a friend of God. His story proves how God treasures HIS friends. Jacob is also a man of God. I have yet to research more because I have questions regarding the incident when he wrestled with GOD. Joseph is an evidence that all things work together for good to those who love the LORD.

Oh how I love the book of Genesis. I have read it before but I haven’t really read it by heart. So all of the verses still seem new to me. Or is it just the reality that no matter how many times we read the Bible, everything seems to be fresh because GOD reveals something new to us?

I feel I am obliged to leave you with a verse from Genesis:

Genesis 1:27

So God created mankind in his own image,
in the image of God he created them;
male and female he created them.

Leave a Reply

