Should Parents Get A Tattoo?

Happy Friday my loves…

nell frizzell

(image sources from http://www.theguardian.com)

I see a lot of people getting inked. Well, it is considerable for teenagers but then again, when they grow old, do you think those tattoos will still look good on their wrinkly skin? Don’t get me wrong. I am not against people who like tattoos nor am I against parents who get tattoos. It just so happened that I was reading an article about parenting and I got curious on one particular article that tackles cool parenting. Apparently, there are people who think that parents who get inked are cool ones. But honestly, I don’t think it’s cool.

Some people think that a tattoo shows off confidence. I think it is the other way around. I think it shows off a very low self esteem. I am not a psychologist but I believe that if you are not comfortable with your skin, you do something about it. If you are not confident with how you look, you sometimes do something to tweak it. Parents who may have undergone some emotional turmoil concerning their “coolness” or their “young” looks resort to this form of skin art to make them feel more confident and interesting.

Parents are supposed to be role models for kids. Studies show that 80% of people who had tattoos have parents who are inked as well. The saying about kids doing what they see from adults prove true indeed. In a society where everything is considered an art, it is not really something surprising to see parents get a tattoo.

There are people who will contest that skin art has nothing to do parenting at all. I don’t really agree. Everything that you do as a parent affects your parenting skills. Parenting is not just about your relationship with your children. It is not just about providing for the needs of your children. It is not just about being there when they need you. Parenting is also being a good example to your children. It is living as a parent and not just pretending to be a parent.

Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Leave a Reply

