What Parents Shouldn’t Say To Their Children

Happy Friday my loves…

When I am not in the mood, I always have the tendency to say something that I regret later on. I think this is something that all parents can relate to especially when dealing with our children. We try our best to be patient but when they go overboard, we snap right away and utter words we shouldn’t say.

So what should parents avoid saying to their children?

1. Leave me alone, will you? 

Most of the time, parents will say this without even explaining to the child why. I am guilty of this as I do this at times especially when I’m busy at work and my son keeps on showing me things or asking me endless questions. With or without the explanation, saying “leave me alone” denotes that you don’t want your child to be with you. This will result to a space between you and your child. If you keep saying these words, the space will soon turn into a wall and before you know it, there is already a wide gap between you and your child. This is the reason why sometimes kids won’t open up their problems to their parents. They don’t want to be just brushed off aside.

So instead of saying “leave me alone”, you should just say something like “will you give me a minute and I’ll just finish what I am doing and I’ll give you my time”. This way, your children will not feel that you abhor their presence.

2. You are so naughty.

Never put labels on your children. Don’t also say words like “you are so silly” or anything that connotes negativity. Our mouth is powerful. It can make or break a person. What parents say can either make or break their children. When you keep on saying that your child is naughty, he will just turn out to be one. He will start thinking to himself that he is really naughty because that is how you perceive him. Remember that children always think that their parents are right. So be very careful in your choice of words. Avoid negative labels.

Instead of saying negative things, encourage your child to be better by using positive words.

3. Don’t cry.

Crying is a good way to express our feelings. If you keep your children from crying, they will end up suppressing their emotions. Crying is natural for children and you should not stop them from doing so. Explain to your children that their situation will soon be better but never tell them not to cry. For instance, if your child trips over, his natural reaction is to cry. Tell him that the pain will soon be over and that you’ll put some medication on it but never suppress his urge to cry.

These are the three common things that we say to our children but we should not. As parents, we should be careful with our words. Words that come out of our mouth must be encouraging for our children.

Well, there you go my loves. I think we all learn something from this. Let me know if you have things you want to add on this list and I’ll gladly add them up 🙂

2 Timothy 3:14-15

But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it,  and how from infancy you have known the holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus.
Leave a Reply

