“If there is one thing you can give to the Philippines, what is that gift?”

Happy Friday my loves…

In line with #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014 , I would like to share with you that one thing that I am more than willing to give to our beloved country as a gift.

If I had billions, I would have paid off every single debt of our country but I just have enough to suffice the everyday needs of my family. And although my heart breaks to see how our economy struggles because of all our debts, all that I can do is raise a prayer and hope for some divine intervention to lift up our economic situation. So I am afraid, money is not something that I can give to the Philippines as a gift.

If I had the wisdom of Solomon, I would have gladly run for politics and create a change that will uplift the situation of every Filipino. But even if I do so, I may not even get a fraction of the votes that my rival candidates would get. I may be somebody in the eyes of my family and friends, but I am just another “Filipino” in the eyes of my country. So I am afraid, joining politics is not something that I can give to the Philippines as a gift.

If I had the beauty of a celebrity, I would have entertained the country. Then perhaps, even for a while, our people will forget how difficult it is to survive.  Maybe entertainment will somehow keep their eyes from the reality that they don’t have shelters or they don’t have foods on their tables. But I am not an entertainer. I am not a pretty face that will somehow cause people to shift their eyes from fear to joy. So I am afraid, entertainment is not something that I can give to the Philippines as a gift.

If I had the brain of Thomas Edison, I would have invented things that will help our people survive. There would be flying cars everywhere. Floating houses that can turn into submarines when needed will be common to Filipinos. Machines that can turn water into food will be a staple in every house. But I am not an inventor. I am good at inventing food recipes for my family but I have never ever tried turning ordinary water to a cheeseburger. So I am afraid, invention is not something that I can give to the Philippines as a gift.

But I am a mother and I have a family. Great things come from small beginnings, they say. I believe that one family can help change the world, so what more a nation? By raising a son who will uphold the virtues of a good individual and by raising a family who values positivity, I believe my family can be a great gift to our country. The Philippines need people who love it enough to protect its values and integrity. Imagine if all families will be concerned about the country, then our dear Philippines will be a nation of united families working together for the betterment of not just the nation but of each Filipino.

So if there is one thing that I can give to the Philippines as a gift, it will be my family. And this is the best I can offer. A family who will be lawful and productive citizens of the country. I believe this is what the Philippines need the most.

How about you my loves? If there is one thing you can give to the Philippines, what is that gift? Please leave your response on the comment box and get a chance to win an iPad2. This promo from Globe and Nuffnang will end on January 29, 2014. I would love to hear your responses 🙂

#GLOBEProjectWonderful2014

 

8 thoughts on ““If there is one thing you can give to the Philippines, what is that gift?”

  1. Joy Merced says:

    There are so much we can give to the Philippines, each and every one of us has alteast something in mind that they can give to make our beautiful country a wonderful country.
    For me, the best gift that i can give to the Philippines is my TIME. By giving my time, i will be able to help out in every which way i can. Charity work, helping out at relief centers or little things as simple as time to clean around the place where i live. If every filipino is willing to spend time thinking of what they can do to help out and putting it all into action, we are one step away to a #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014 Philippines!

    • Kiks says:

      Hi Joy…what you said is very true. The Philippines need more people who are willing to offer their time for the greater good of the country 🙂

  2. MariaVelasquezFranco (@bastaigat_sikat) says:

    I want to give the gift of light to the Philippines. More specifically the gift of SOLAR POWER. As a victim of the super typhoon Yolanda, wherein we totally had no communication due to power outage for a while and even until now electricity has not been fully restored in many places that were in Yolanda’s path, having backup power coming from SOLAR Energy is truly indispensable. Too much chaos occurs in the dark at night when a lot of people cannot rest easy for fear of thieves and looters. Having light (literally!) in these dark and trying times is what we truly need. But I do also wish for every Filipino household, Yolanda victim or not, to have 100% sustainable hybrid homes and eco-friendly houses that combine rainwater harvesting and clean energy generation (THINK: UNLIMITED WATER SUPPLY & SOLAR POWERED HOUSES!). This way our electric bills and carbon footprints will be largely diminished as well as we can show our love for Mother Earth.

    – Maria Velasquez-Franco of http://www.bastaigatsikat.com for #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014

  3. Cherry Franco says:

    Though I have an extensive explanation of my gift on my own post for #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014, here’s another gift I would give to my countrymen if can:

    Helping hands. A million helping hands.

    After Yolanda, I realized that a LOT of people are willing to help. It was my first time to volunteer and repack donations and it was amazingly heartwarming to see strangers talking to each other, hand in hand and helping each other with only one goal for the day. And I want that again, not only during calamities but every single day.

    There are still people out there who needs help, RIGHT NOW. Just look at the street children and displaced people everyday.

    Here’s the plan inside my head: An organization where people of ALL ages — from grandparents to high schoolers, can join and browse for “projects” online, much like browsing for available jobs, where they can volunteer/donate. This organization can build a lot of projects for different kind of things!

    Example:

    San Andres Area: Soup Kitchen — 2/3/14 @ 7pm.
    Needed: 5 volunteers to cook, 5 volunteers to distribute, 10 Males for crowd control.
    Materials: 4 tables, Bring your own cooking utensils and casserole.

    Poblacion area: Basket Ball Court Rebuilding — 3/15/14 @ 3pm.
    Needed: 10 Males for rebuilding bleachers, 10 volunteers to repaint
    Materials: 3 Red paints, Nails, Bring your own hammers

    Boni area: Basic Tutoring Class — 4/20/14 @ 8am – 6pm
    Needed: 20 volunteers to teach, 10 volunteers to make food.
    Materials. Teachers must bring 5 recycled papers and pencils each. Food makers must bring 10 eggs and bread.

    NOW, let me ask you, if this website were real. Wouldn’t you click that JOIN button?

    A million helping hands. Think about it. 🙂

    Cherry Franco
    franchenn@yahoo.com

  4. Cherry Franco says:

    Though I have an extensive explanation of my gift on my own post for #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014, here’s another gift I would give to my countrymen if can:

    Helping hands. A million helping hands.

    After Yolanda, I realized that a LOT of people are willing to help. It was my first time to volunteer and repack donations and it was amazingly heartwarming to see strangers talking to each other, hand in hand and helping each other with only one goal for the day. And I want that again, not only during calamities but every single day.
    There are still people out there who needs help, RIGHT NOW. Just look at the street children and displaced people everyday.

    Here’s the plan inside my head: An organization where people of ALL ages — from grandparents to high schoolers, can join and browse for “projects” online, much like browsing for available jobs, where they can volunteer/donate. This organization can build a lot of projects for different kind of things!

    Example:
    San Andres Area: Soup Kitchen — 2/3/14 @ 7pm.
    Needed: 5 volunteers to cook, 5 volunteers to distribute, 10 Males for crowd control.
    Materials: 4 tables, Bring your own cooking utensils and casserole.

    Poblacion area: Basket Ball Court Rebuilding — 3/15/14 @ 3pm.
    Needed: 10 Males for rebuilding bleachers, 10 volunteers to repaint
    Materials: 3 Red paints, Nails, Bring your own hammers

    Boni area: Basic Tutoring Class — 4/20/14 @ 8am – 6pm
    Needed: 20 volunteers to teach, 10 volunteers to make food.
    Materials. Teachers must bring 5 recycled papers and pencils each. Food makers must bring 10 eggs and bread.

    NOW, let me ask you, if this website were real. Wouldn’t you click that JOIN button?

    A million helping hands. Think about it. 🙂

    Here’s my own idea for #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014 :

    🙂

    –Cherry Franco
    franchenn@yahoo.com

  5. Cristelle Torres says:

    If there’s one thing that I can give my dear country that
    would be …. The gift of Health.

    I want to do a medical mission with the help ofNuffnang Philippines and Globe thru #GLOBEProjectWonderful2014

    Health is wealth. No amount of money, time and effort can
    ever, ever, bring the best of your health back, once it’s gone.

    In my 6 years of practice as a nurse, I have seen how our
    healthcare system struggles to provide quality care for our countrymen, may it be in manpower, medicines, or equipments both in the
    community and hospital.

    I’ve seen people deteriorating day by day because they can’t
    afford to go to a doctor. I’ve seen
    patients die because their
    families didn’t have enough money to buy basic medicines.

    I am believing that we can do something about this. One of
    those needy, ailing, indigent patients could be your mom, dad, granparent,
    relative, dear friend, loved one…

    In short, we are all CONNECTED, one way or another. So it is
    not just a matter of “about them” because it is
    ABOUT US — ALL OF US.

Leave a Reply

