Weight Loss – Juice Or Smoothie?

Happy Tuesday my loves…

(Photo credit – pinkcakeplate.com)

I don’t think motherhood is an excuse to be unhealthy. I am one of those women who are blessed with more body fats than most women I know. Although I am not against curves, I am convinced that women, including mommies, have the right to feel healthy and look better. After all, our kids need us to be alive longer. So weight loss may just be a great parenting technique after all 🙂

My journey to weight loss has been very tough. For years, I have battled and guess I have never won. Everyday is a struggle especially when my mind wants to exercise but my body says it’s better to lie down and play on the iPad or watch a movie. It is a struggle when my mind wants to control what I am putting inside my body but my mouth and my tummy cheer me to continue binging. It’s like I am in a stadium and people are cheering me to go on. One mind against what every part of my body wants. Can you imagine the torment?

Anyway, I am again on the lookout for ways to lose the extra pounds. So I have heard about the latest craze in weight loss which is juicing. You take your healthy fruits and vegetables, throw them in the juicer, and voila, healthy drink for a healthy you! Well, this sounds promising.

There is also the smoothie diet. You throw in your favourite fruits and vegetables on your blender and instant delicious goodness that will help trim down your body.

Both look very effective. But I wonder, which one is actually better? I have read somewhere in the vast cyber space that juicing is really good because your body can absorb the nutrients right away. You will also feel lighter. Your skin will have that special kind of glow. But then I have also read that smoothies are better because aside from the juice, you can also take in the fibres of the fruits and vegetables. This way, you will feel fuller for a longer period of time.

I am trying smoothie now. Although I don’t really call it a smoothie diet because I still eat solid foods. I just include a fruit smoothie every now and then for snacks. Instead of eating white bread or something sweet for snack, I drown myself in smoothie. By the way, I don’t add milk to my smoothie. I just use fresh fruits and a little water to make it easy for my blender to do its job.

I hope this works. I badly wanted to remove my oversized love handles.

I will also be trying the detox juicing diet as my mom, who will be leaving for the US again, has left me her prized juicer. I have already filled my fridge with veggies like cucumber and carrots so I might be trying veggie juice in the next few days.

I’ll share with you my loves if I see any result. Right now, I’m still the same big me.

What do you think – which one is better in terms of weight loss – Juice Or Smoothie? Share your thoughts and leave me a comment. Also, if you can send me some love over here Top Mommy Blog, I’ll be so happy 🙂

1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body.

One thought on “Weight Loss – Juice Or Smoothie?

Leave a Reply

