Is Your Child A Happy Child?

Happy Tuesday my loves…

I am always baffled by the reason why there are some kids who don’t seem to enjoy being kids. I remember when I was a kid, I enjoyed every moment of it. And to think that I don’t have any of what the kids have now. We use to draw and cut paper dolls because we don’t have money to buy real dolls. We play with rubber bands like they are some high form of technological advancement. We write and tell stories better than most authors I know. We play pretend games better than a lot of actors today.

Anyway, my point is that childhood is a fun phase. As a parent, I make sure that my son enjoys every bit of his childhood. Yes, I discipline him once in a while, but most of the time, I let him explore and enjoy. I also make sure that I provide opportunities for him to develop his talents. This is something I wasn’t able to do before. In fact, I could have been a better singer or dancer had I the chance to develop my skills.

So how do we, parents, raise a happy child? What parenting techniques can we use to make sure that our kids will grow up happy and content? These parenting styles may work alone or in partnership with the other styles. I suggest that parents combine various parenting styles to achieve the best results – a happy child.

BE HAPPY PARENTS.

I know…you might say that we’re talking about our kids being happy, right? So why do we need to be happy parents then? Simple. Remember that children learn by example. If they see the parents happy, they will be happy. How do you think will your children grow up if everyday they see the mommy sulking on the table or the daddy irritated all the time? So be happy parents and your children will be happy children 🙂 It’s as easy as that. Whew…so you can expect my son to be an extremely happy person.

EXPLAIN YOUR PARENTING ACTIONS.

Some kids become sad when they get reprimanded. We don’t want sad kids, right? So every time you have to correct or discipline your child, always prepare an explanation for your parenting actions. They have to understand the reason behind your actions so they can understand you better. Kids who understand their parents grow up to be happy kids. May I just add that when explaining something to your kids, parents remember to speak in a way that your children will understand.

RESPECT YOUR CHILDREN.

Children should honour the parents, right? In fact, it is one of the ten commandments. However, let us not forget that respect begets respect. If you want your children to respect you, you should set an example by respecting them too. Well, it doesn’t mean that you have to bow before them or do whatever they say. It only means that you treat children like you value them. Don’t be harsh to them even if you are disciplining them. Talk to them politely too. When children feel valued, they grow up happy. After all, even parents will agree that when someone values us, it adds up to our feeling of happiness.

So how do you raise a happy child? As parents, you should set a good example: be happy, explain your parenting actions, and respect your children.

Happy parenting my loves 🙂

Psalms 127:3-5 Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

5 thoughts on “Is Your Child A Happy Child?

  1. findingninee says:

    happy parenting is huge. I so very much believe that our children learn by example and that it’s more important than any job, bill, blog, phone call, etc that we take time to laugh with our little dudes. Great post.

Leave a Reply

