I’m Bully-Proofing My Son, Would You?

Happy Tuesday my loves…

When I was little, I was always the target of bullies at school. I was in a government school.We don’t have a cleaner for each classroom so after each day, we were asked to clean the room and get it ready for the next day. There was this classmate of mine who is the daughter of one of the teachers in the school. I don’t know why but she seems to take extra fondness of me as her bully object. And being the daughter of a teacher, it somehow gave her authority over all the other students. She always assign me to apply floor wax. I had to do this using a piece of cloth with wax on it. I had to apply it by hand so I had to be on my knees to do this properly. And you know what my loves? This bully will ride on my back while I apply the floor wax. Being the little girl that I was — afraid of my teachers — I would just go on with what I do. Only now did I realize that it was not a good experience and I don’t want my son to experience the same bullying. I am bully-proofing my son! Would you do the same to your kids?

Parenting entails protecting our children from any harm. I perceive bullying as a potential harm to my son and to any other kids. So how can we, parents, help our kids from becoming bully victims? Here are some very effective bully proof parenting techniques:

* Parents should encourage children to talk about their dilemma. Kids are often scared to talk about their bullying experience. What parents can do is encourage the child to speak by sharing their own bullying experience and how they got out of it. Every time the child opens up about the experience, parents should commend him. If the child feels comfortable talking about the experience, he can always open up to the teachers and even school administrators about bullying and the bully will be stopped.

* Eliminate the causes of bullying. What does the bully want from your child? Whatever it is that makes the bullies turn to your child, eliminate it. If the bully is after money, then don’t give your child money so that the bully won’t have something to get from your child.

* Encourage your child to have more friends. A bully will always target kids who are alone. He will not usually picked on a child who is with two or more friends with him. So as much as possible, arrange more social activities for your child where he can meet more friends.

* Encourage your child to stand up for himself. Bullies will not have the courage to picked on someone who knows how to put up a good fight. I am not saying that you teach your child to fight but teach your child to stand up for his right. He can talk to the teacher about his situation so the teacher can do something about it.

Let’s fight bullying. It is not healthy. It scars children. Let us bully proof our children.

Psalm 127:3-5

Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from him.  Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth.  Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their enemies in the gate.

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Bully-Proofing My Son, Would You?

Leave a Reply

