I Am Made New

Happy Friday my loves…

Last Wednesday night, we had our discipleship training here at our home and our topic was 2 Corinthians 5:17 which says: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! This means that our sinful nature has died and a new us is born. From being slaves to sin, we become children of God.

This verse strikes me hard on the heart. It got me thinking, just how new am I?

God changed my life

I hate to speak for myself as some of you may not agree with me but personally, I have noticed a lot of positive changes in me since God has looked upon me with favour and grace and has gladly accepted me as one of His children. It would be better I think if this observation comes from other people because then I will know how changed I am. This is the fairest measure of the changes in me.

I have always been known as the loud one. I thank the Lord that somehow He has started taming my tongue. I am not saying I can fully control what comes out of my mouth but little by little I have learned to stop when I know that someone might get hurt by my words. I am still on the process of change but it is a great thing that I have already started the journey. Og Mandino once said, the journey to a thousand miles begins with the first step. I am past the first step already and I thank God for it.

I am not always the obedient one. I do things that I like to do even if I go against what other people say to me. But lately, I have learned to be obedient. I know that this is not an overnight change but I am glad that my heart and mind can already discern what’s best to do. There are times that obeying seems to be the hardest thing to do but then the Bible reminds us that obedience is better than sacrifice so no matter how hard it may seem, we should learn to obey. And by obedience here, I mean obeying God.

Being a new person in Christ means having a renewed mind. We can’t say that we are changed when we still think the same way. There should be a renewal of our minds to make way for the transformation. We are transformed. We are new. I really love the word “transform” because it means that God has made us new. We were not just “reformed” but “transformed”. Isn’t it great that God did not just corrected our faults but He actually removed our old selves and gave us new ones. I am just truly in awe.

What a great verse this is. This is something that gives me hope and inspiration to continue striving for greater change.

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

 

 

 

One thought on “I Am Made New

Leave a Reply

