Christmas Countdown – For Kids Only?

christmas-316448_640

When I was a kid, I always look forward to the “ber” months because they signify that the Christmas season is just around the corner. Christmas is the happiest time of the year for me. In fact, I enjoy it more than my birthday. I just feel that people are at their best during the Christmas season. Everyone seems to be trying so hard to be the nicest person in the whole planet.

As Christmas is nearly approaching, I come to realize that as we grow older, we tend to be more lax when it comes to the Christmas season. For a lot of adults I know, Christmas is just another day of the 365 days we have in a year. The excitement is no longer at its peak.

Well, this is not the case at home. My son is excited for all the gifts that he is surely going to get for Christmas. He is also excited for the food that seems to overflow during this season. More importantly, he is so excited to have the long awaited Christmas break from school. Come on, who doesn’t look forward to a long vacation? I surely did when I was a student. If you can see the excitement in my son’s eyes, you will be surprised at how such a little boy can contain that much excitement. He does the Christmas countdown every year – never fails.

But guess what? I am an adult and yet, I have the same level of excitement as my son. We don’t have the same things that we look forward to, but we’re both very excited for the Christmas season. While he is excited to receive gifts, I am excited to give him gifts. Parents can relate to me when I say that there is nothing more satisfying in this world than to see your child overflow with joy and happiness and you are part of it. While he is excited to binge, I am excited to cook. I plan my Christmas menu ahead of time. While he is excited to take a break from school, I am excited to spend time with him at home. Being a “work from home” mom, I am blessed that even though I have to work through the holidays, I still get to spend time with my son at home.

See? Christmas countdown is not just for kids. It is for everyone. It is for mommies like me too. So how many days more before Christmas? I am excited!

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Countdown – For Kids Only?

Leave a Reply

