On Foods And Self Image

Who doesn’t love food? But lately I’ve been scared of food because I feel like I have doubled in size the last few years. Okay, I’m exaggerating but when people see me, all they notice is how I gained weight. They didn’t even notice I recently had my eyelashes done or that I had my hair cut! Bitter ako mga ateng!

If you don’t know yet, I work from home and contrary to what other people may think of, working from home is more stressful than working in a regular workplace. Why? First, I have to work double time because my boss counts my output and not my time. Second, I have no social life. Third, I always take my work home (huh? Remember when people use to say that leave your work at the office, don’t take them home so you will not get stressed? Well, since my work is at home, how can I ****ing leave it at the office? Right?)

I love eating! It’s my stress reliever. Whenever I feel worn out, I eat. Whenever I feel stressed, I eat. Whenever I feel down, I eat. Gosh, I even eat when I’m happy. Basically I eat all the time! Jeskelerd! (Note to self: At nagreklamo ka talaga ng taba sa lagay na yan teh?)

Who can resist these?

img_6334

img_6087

img_6108

img_6156

img_6154

img_6163

img_6164

img_6330

img_6079

img_6102

Okay, so pano ko iiwasan ang pagtaba ngayon? Sabihin niyo nga sa akin?

Apparently, gaining weight and constantly being called out for it is not good for my self esteem. Heck, it is not good for anyone’s self esteem! But the truth is I don’t really feel offended when someone tells me I’m fat (ouch!). Actually, it is a good eye opener to start realizing how important it is to keep our body healthy. I don’t just look at weight as a measure of one’s physical appeal, I look at it as a measure of one’s health. The more I gain weight, the more I become a target for health issues.

So do I refrain from eating? Hell, no! I still eat what I want but now I am teaching myself to control a bit especially on sodas and junk foods. I tend to eat more fruits too. I may or may not lose weight by doing this but it doesn’t matter. What matters is that I am starting to eat healthy and this is my first step. As Lao Tzu said, the journey to a thousand miles begins with the first step.

 

 

 

One thought on “On Foods And Self Image

Leave a Reply

