I’d Rather Have Few Friends

Love Heart Friendship Trust Feeling Eternity

Contrary to what other people may think, I don’t have a lot of friends. Yes I have quite a handful of people in my circle but I wouldn’t really consider them as my friends. Acquaintances maybe, but not friends.

Last night’s devotion with the family involved the story of Jonathan and David. In the Bible, their friendship is ideal. When Jonathan helped David escape the wrath of Saul, it was genuine friendship that urged him to. I don’t have a lot of Jonathan in my life. I know of only a few people who would go beyond their comfort zone to help me. There are a lot of people who would be happy to laugh with me but not a lot would cry with me.

As we were discussing, I told my son to choose his friends wisely. I asked him to pray for the gift of discernment so he will know who his real friends are and who are hiding behind fake smiles. There are a lot of users in this world and without the gift of discernment, it is just so easy for us to fall prey to their sweet lies.

I’d rather have a few true friends than to have heaps of fake friends. And this is what I want my son to do as well. One true friend is better than a thousand fake ones.

 

One thought on “I’d Rather Have Few Friends

Leave a Reply

