I Have An Awesome Lawyer!

download

In the Philippines (and I believe in many parts of the world), an accused without any financial means to hire a lawyer is given a public lawyer free of charge. This is the provision of the law that ensures everyone gets a fair trial and judgment for their case.

We are all sinners. No one can boastfully say that he is of no blemish. If we are to be judged, we are all guilty. And you know what the Bible says about the punishment for our sin – death.

But I am not afraid anymore. Why? Because I have an awesome lawyer. I can’t defend myself before the Father.No family or friend can ever defend me. But there is one – of no blemish – who is willing to defend me before the Father. He says I am acquitted because He has already paid for my sin. He says I am free because he already bore what I should have endured. He says I am His because He has bought my life with His own blood. How lucky am I? And how lucky everyone who accept His free defense offer will be.

I have an awesome lawyer who has victory in all the cases he handles! This was part of the discussion that we had last night during our family devotion. Having the time to talk about God and His goodness strengthens our relationship with the Lord and at the same it tightens our relationship with each other as a family. It is a good thing that I see my son participating in the discussion. As a parent, there is nothing more that I desire than to see my son living a life that glorifies the Lord. As a pilgrim in this world, I want to leave a legacy to him and that is a life that serves the Lord.

We have started our family devotions recently and I must say that it is a good thing that we did especially nowadays when the temptations of the world get stronger every day. Studying the Word helps us fight these temptations.

How about you my loves, have you ever consider having a family devotion?

 

Leave a Reply

