5th Week – Pregnancy Surprise

What a surprise when I found out I was expecting last Feb 28. I had a one day spotting on February and as I realized it was already the end of the month, I was scared I might have some sort of physical illness so I planned to get checked the next day. I told my husband maybe I should do a pregnancy test first to rule out pregnancy from my reasons of missed period. We were totally not expecting pregnancy because after 14 years, who would have thought this will be a possibility?

So I took the pregnancy test almost a hundred percent sure it will be negative but to my surprise, it was positive! I was shocked and didn’t know what to say. Equally shocked was my husband, my son, and the rest of my family! I think I’m too old to still get pregnant. I am 35 and God has a surprising way of putting me on the last trip to motherhood.

So to confirm the result, we went to 2 Ob-gynes. Yes, I really wanted to make sure. I had 2 ultrasounds too which I realized may not be good for the baby but what’s done has been done. Anyway, here is the image of the ultrasound I had.img_6484

The baby is not yet visible as it is too early. On my first ultrasound, I was told that there was no baby yet, it was just the amniotic sac. The second ultrasound I had was transvaginal and I think it showed clearer result. The little white spot inside the black circle is apparently the tiny heartbeat of the baby. It was too early to actually see something.

From the ultrasound, it was determined that I am on the fifth week of pregnancy. I haven’t had any major discomfort. I feel a little sick in the morning, like I have a fever or stuffed nose but apart from that there is nothing major discomfort that I feel.

I was asked to take folic acid and hormone replacement supplement which I always forget to take. Perhaps this is one of the effects of pregnancy, I am more forgetful now.

I was also asked to drink pregnancy milk which is such a pain to take. I don’t like the taste but hey, I have to do it, right?

I don’t have any food cravings but my son was craving for pasta yesterday. Is it possible that he’s the one craving for me? I remember when I was pregnant with my son, my husband was the one craving for food and not me. It’s an old wives tale that if you walk over someone during pregnancy, that person will be the one craving and not you. I know there is no logic to it but who knows? LOL

This has all been a surprise to me and I hope to document my journey to help expectant mothers too. We can all learn from each other.

One thought on “5th Week – Pregnancy Surprise

Leave a Reply

