Our Little Angel At 12 Weeks

Our little bubba is now 12 weeks and 3 days old. How fast time flies! We have to wait until the 20th week to know the gender but we are praying it will be a baby girl. Everyone we know hopes for a baby girl too. I can never be more excited.

Last time we went for my prenatal checkup, my OB tried to listen to the baby’s heartbeat using the doppler but we can’t hear it. She said it was probably too early to detect the heartbeat so she did a quick pelvic ultrasound just to make sure that the baby is okay and is alive. The baby was sleeping so we can’t really see any movement. My OB tried to prod my abdomen gently and the baby moved a little. What a relief to find out it’s okay.

Week-11-Baby-Size-Comparison

According to Babycenter.com, at this age, the baby is already the size of a lime. Great improvement. Last week, it was just the size of a brussel sprout. It weighs about half an ounce and measures around a little over 2 inches. It is looking more human every week. It got reflexes now. The eyes have moved from the sides to the front of the head. The ears are now in place as well.

download

As for me, I am beginning to feel morning sickness. I know it’s late since I am already about to start my second trimester. I haven’t had any morning sickness during my first trimester so I must be a late bloomer! Heartburn has become more and more intense now. And talk about frequent trip to the bathroom especially early in the morning!

I have no particular craving for food but I want cold drinks always. It’s hard to pin this down to pregnancy since it is full Summer here so I am thinking I will still crave for cold drinks even if I am not pregnant.

My tummy is getting bigger now. I am running out of clothes that fit me.

My family has been nothing but very supportive and helpful at this stage. I thank the Lord for the gift of family to help me get through this exciting but scary journey.

 

Leave a Reply

